11 – When the Jules Rimet Trophy was handed over to Brazil at the 1970 FIFA World Cup to mark their third triumph in the competition, FIFA commissioned a new Trophy for the tenth World Cup finals in 1974.

Qatar World Cup 2022 Livestream ⚽ Get 1 Month for FREE
Instant access to the BT Sport, Sky Sports and Eurosport

Measuring 36.8cm tall, the Trophy has been held aloft 11 times since then. Reigning champions Germany have got their hands on the golden statuette more than any other team during this time, hoisting it three times in 1974, 1990 and 2014. Brazil 1994, 2002, Italy 1982, 2006 and Argentina 1978, 1986 have all won it twice, while France 1998 and Spain 2010 have each been presented with the Trophy once.

Did you know?
The FIFA World Cup Trophy remains in FIFA’s possession at all time and cannot be won outright by a country. The current Trophy is crafted from solid 18-carat gold and weighs exactly 6.175kg. The base contains two layers of semi-precious malachite, while the underside is engraved with the year and name of each FIFA World Cup winner since 1974.