The pairings for the semi-finals are determined by an open draw.

Real Madrid C.F. v Atlético de Madrid
AS MONACO v Juventus

The semi-final first legs will take place on Tuesday 2 and Wednesday 3 May, with the returns the following week. The side drawn first in each tie will play the first leg at home. The National Stadium of Wales in Cardiff will stage the final at 20:45CET on Saturday 3 June.

Monaco have never won away in the European Cup semi-finals (D1 L2). They lost 3-0 at AC Milan in a one-off tie in 1993/94 and 4-1 at Juventus in 1995/96, before a 2-2 draw at Chelsea in 2003/04. In contrast, the Ligue 1 club have won both their home games in European Cup semi-finals.

Previous semi-final ties between clubs from the same nation:
1999/00 Valencia 5-3 Barcelona
2001/02 Real Madrid 3-1 Barcelona
2002/03 AC Milan 1-1a Inter
2004/05 Liverpool 1-0 Chelsea
2006/07 Liverpool 1-1p Chelsea
2007/08 Chelsea 4-3 Liverpool
2008/09 Man. United 4-1 Arsenal
2010/11 Barcelona 3-1 Real Madrid

Juve also beat Monaco in the 2014/15 quarter-finals, Arturo Vidal’s 57th-minute penalty in the first leg in Turin the only goal of the tie. This ASM team, of course, are rather more swashbuckling.

Monaco and Juventus have previous in the UEFA Champions League semi-finals, the Bianconeri winning 6-4 in 1997/98 – en route to losing to Madrid in the final. Juve were 4-1 winners in the home first leg, progressing despite a 3-2 away defeat.

The final act on stage sees UEFA President Aleksander Čeferin hand over the UEFA Champions League trophy to the delegates from Wales. They’re obviously worried about dropping it because there’s two of them carrying it.

This will be a fifth European meeting for Real Madrid and Atlético, all in the European Cup. Madrid won the first tie, in the 1958/59 semi-finals, 2-1 after a replay (Real Madrid 2-1 Atlético, Atlético 1-0 Real Madrid).